My New Year Resolution

Every new years eve I wrote my list of 5 resolutions that I want to accomplish in the upcoming year. Beside loosing weight and exercise more often, one of them its finding a new, better job. Like most of us, we included in our list and after the first two weeks of the year, I drop it and nothing happen.

But this year, I was determined to find a new job, to find The Job. Different from past years, I created a plan. With so many websites out there, dedicated to find you a job it can be overwhelm. And it was!

There were hu5000_puzzle_pieces_by_pheeph-d394l5xndreds, no, thousands of job openings in my field. From entry level to Executive, individual contributor to manager, regular to contractor. It was a nightmare! It was like having the feeling when you open 5000 puzzle pieces box and you don’t know how to start. I felt overwhelmed, confuse, literally I really didn’t know where and how to start.

No wonder, that every year I lose momentum and give up my resolution to find a job. In world that we live technology and social media, it has become even harder that the old days of waiting for the Sunday newspaper to arrive so you can dig in to the job postings to apply. Send the resume to the email address of the posting, even sent a resume by mail or just drop your resume to the security desk of the company.

Anyway, as I mentioned before I had a plan. I wrote down what I want, my goals in my career, and even cross out location. I was determined to get a job, The Job regardless of the location. And with that, my journey start.

Leave a Reply

